We’ve all been there at least once in our lives. The greatest heartbreak of the century, getting blocked by a friend on social media, has to be one of the most millennial things we as a generation could come up with.
Snapchat, the pioneer of making “24 hours story” a massive trend through most popular platforms, is the go-to app for many who love to “snap” moments and include others in their journey of happily snapping away. Snap streaks, filters to beautify selfies, and, most importantly, disappearing pictures are some of the many reasons this app continues to be the most used worldwide. Another privacy-related feature is that you can easily block anyone! For some, this is great. But for those receiving the brunt of it, not so much.
Snapchat App doesn’t send a notification to blocked users; therefore, it is up to us to figure out. Now there isn’t much I can do to get you unblocked, but I can help you to know whether you’ve been blocked or not. Just put on your Sherlock hat and follow these simple methods.
How to Tell if Someone Blocked You on Snapchat?
1. Chat List
This can be your primary cue IF you’ve had a conversation with the concerned person and not cleared your chat history. The first and foremost step is to search for them in your chat list. In case you’ve recently spoken through this app with the person, their chat should be visible in your chat list. Chances are, if you have been blocked, you will not be able to find their chat. And even if you do, you won’t be able to send them snaps anymore.
To navigate through, click on the speech bubble icon next to the camera icon.
However, this alone cannot prove the suspicion. Another reason could be that they have deleted their account. To verify this, the best step is
2. Search for Username
Wondering where the person vanished into thin air? Once someone has blocked you, there will no be traces left behind. You can search for the person in concern using their full name or username. Note that it will be helpful if you remember the exact username. Because there will be many others with the same full name, which can be changed, but a username is permanent and unique. If the user has blocked you, you won’t be able to find them. Click on the search icon at the top left on the main screen of the app.
Note that you will still be able to find them if they have only removed you from their Friends list, depending on their privacy settings.
3. Check from another Account
The next best option to confirm if the user has blocked you is to search for them through another account.
You can either check from a friend’s account or make a new account. If the username isn’t available from another account, they have possibly deleted their account. If it is, you’ve been definitely blocked.
4. Just ask them!
I know it sounds easier said than done. If the contact who has blocked you is your friend or you know them personally, just call and ask or drop a message. For all you know, it could be a small misunderstanding. If not, then it is best to just leave at it.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I text someone who blocked me?
No, sadly, you cant.
How do you find out if someone unfriended you on Snapchat?
You can search for them in your Friends List. If they don’t appear, you’ve likely been removed or “unfriended” by them. You will not be able to see their Snap score either.
When someone unfriends you on Snapchat, can they still see your story?
No, they can’t. And vice versa.
What does a grey arrow mean on Snapchat?
If you send a snap to someone which shows delivered with a grey arrow means that they have not added you as a friend yet.
Do you lose streak if you unfriend someone on Snapchat?
Yes, if you don’t add them back after 24 hours.
Does blocking someone on Snapchat delete unopened snaps?
Any snap or message sent right before blocking someone will be deleted. The blocked user won’t be able to access them anymore.
How do you stop someone from viewing a snap you sent?
Block them! Unfortunately, there is no other official method to stop them from seeing your snap, nor can you physically stop them. Temporarily blocking the contact is your safest bet.
Can you see if a blocked number has tried to text you?
No, you cannot. The good thing about the blocking feature is that all ties are cut.
Do blocked messages get delivered when unblocked?
Snapchat will have deleted the messages once you have blocked the user, so no. You’re safe!
There you go, with these easy peasy methods, you can find out straight away whether you have been blocked or not and put yourself out of the misery at once!